The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

VVP: Green Chili Hummus with Lime Flavored Sweet Potato Chips

on October 31, 2012

Welcome to the second installment of the Virtual Vegan Potluck! Thank you for stopping by my blog and I hope you enjoy the recipe I made. I’m sure you enjoyed Barb’s entry before mine. I’ve had the pleasure of eating many of her dishes (the benefits of living only 45 minutes apart!) so I can say with confidence that even though I’ve not tried this particular one, I know it’s good.

While my appetizer may not win a lot of points for creativity, it is tasty and easy, two requisites in my cooking world :) I added green chili to the hummus for a few reasons; one, I have a ton of fresh-roasted green chili Robert and I bought a while back and I need any excuse to use it. Second, why have plain hummus when you can add a little kick to it? That’s part of what makes hummus so great; it is highly customizable. You can also dip just about anything in it but since this is a special occasion I wanted to add a twist. So that’s how the idea for the lime sweet potato chips came to be.  The sweetness of the chips tempers the spice from the hummus and the lime kind of ties it all together.

I tried several ways of making the chips to find the best way to impart the lime flavor. The first was to mix lime zest with salt and season the chips immediately after removing from the pan. The second way I squeezed fresh lime juice straight onto the chips, then seasoned with salt. The last application was the most successful; I soaked the slices in lime juice for about 10 minutes prior to frying and seasoned with just salt when done. The lime flavor was great but use EXTREME caution when adding to the pan to fry; the additional liquid will cause the oil to sizzle quite a bit for the first few seconds. I used a wire mesh strainer (like this) to add the potatoes to the pan, thus keeping me at arm’s length from the splattering oil.

A few other notes:

The hummus recipe I used is from the book Peas and Thank You but feel free to use whatever recipe you prefer. I did add a bit more lemon juice than her recipe calls for, about a teaspoon, just to loosen it up a bit. I also did not remove the skins from the chickpeas, as her recipe calls for. No way do I have the patience for that. She says removing the skins makes the hummus really creamy but honestly I think mine came out just fine. This makes a lot of dip, especially for only two people but a great way to use it up would be in roasted veggie tacos.

If you can’t find fresh roasted green chili, use canned but drain it first before adding. I started with one chili (about 3 tablespoons, diced) then checked the flavor after blending it all. I ended up adding another chili, but add to your discretion. Depending on the heat level, one chili may be enough. Or if you prefer the taste of fire, add moreJ.

The chips should be made and eaten the same day as they do not keep well, so make only what you need. An average sized sweet potato makes enough chips for one person; they shrink a lot during frying. I used a mandolin to slice them, but take it from me and use the slice guard! Just speaking from personal experience; I’ll spare you the gory details. Work in batches when cooking the chips and let the oil reheat between batches. I used a dutch oven and could cook ¼ of the potatoes without crowding the pan.

Green Chili Hummus-Recipe adapted from Peas and Thank You

My attempt at food decoration–not very good :)

Makes 2 cups

1 15oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (reserve 3 tablespoons of the liquid)

2 tablespoons tahini

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 teaspoon cumin

2 teaspoons minced garlic

1-2 roasted green chilies, skinned, seeded, and diced

Directions: Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend, blend, blend until smooth. Add additional lemon juice if mixture becomes too thick. Taste and add more chili if more heat is desired. Refrigerate leftovers (if any).

Lime Flavored Sweet Potato Chips

Homemade potato chips are way better than store bought.

Makes 2 servings

2 medium sized sweet potatoes, sliced thin

~½ cup lime juice

Canola oil

Cookie sheet lined with paper towels for draining

Salt

Directions: Place sliced potatoes in a shallow dish and pour the lime juice in, making sure all the potatoes are covered. Soak for 10 minutes. Heat about ½ inch of oil in a heavy pan over medium-high heat. To check if oil is hot enough, add one potato slice to the pan. If it immediately sizzles, then it is hot enough. Using a wire mesh strainer, add ¼ of the potatoes to the oil. Fry for about 1-2 minutes, removing the potatoes when they start to curl up and turn dark brown. They may look burned but are not; just keep an eye on them as they do cook fast. Remove and place on the prepared cookie sheet to drain. Season with salt immediately. Repeat with remaining slices. Once they are cooled you can put them in a container to store if not eating right away but remember they won’t taste as good the next day.

I hope you enjoyed my little addition to this amazing event. I can’t wait to see what everyone else brings. Have fun discovering new recipes and blogs and I hope you come back and visit!  Now continue to whet your appetite and head on over to Queens of the Wild Frontier and their appetizer contribution! Or feel free to jump around to random blogs through the main VVP page.

92 responses to “VVP: Green Chili Hummus with Lime Flavored Sweet Potato Chips

  1. Oh wow – those chips are killing me! I’ve only just started the Potluck and I’m starving! Thanks for a great post!

  2. Chippies!!!!! OMG they look GREAT!!!
    I’ll bet they didn’t last long :)

  3. emmycooks says:

    I’m so adding roasted green chiles to my next batch of hummus! And I love the idea of sweet potato chips for dipping. (I’m scared of boiling oil but I’ve had good luck baking them: http://emmycooks.com/2012/03/28/sweet-potato-chips/) :)

  4. I enjoy spicy hummus too but I’ve always added red chilli powder. Your green chilli idea sounds awesome!! I’m definitely adding them next time. :)

    And those chips look totally nom!!! I’ve heard that if lime is added to anything that’s deep fried, it absorbs less oil. Was that the case with your chips? Were they less greasy, as far as deep fried stuff goes?

  5. who doent love a good hummus? and im with annie my tummy rumbling at the thought of this!

  6. veghotpot says:

    mmm that hummous looks fab! I’ve never made my own crisps (chips) before but I think I’m not going to have to try it as they look perfect

  7. trueindigo says:

    Love the hummus variation! A must for dipping with such yummy chips!

  8. This sounds so delicious!! Love the combination of the spicy creamy dip, and sweet citrusy and crunchy chips :) Happy VVP!

  9. Yummmmss! I want those chips right now, please! And thanks for the kind review :)

  10. The idea of lime sweet potatoes sounds too good to miss!
    I think my kids would love this!

  11. Food Stories says:

    Just making my way through the VVP & and wanted to say hey :-)

  12. Yummy…Cannot wait to make these, I love the idea of the Lime Flavor. Great recipe..Thanks

  13. This hummus looks really good! I love the idea of taking something so simple and easy and making it your own! Spicy flavors haven’t always been my thing, but they’re definitly growing on me. I love that you made your own chips as well!

    • I was never into spicy food either. But my boyfriend grew up in New Mexico and green chili run through his veins so I’ve slowly been adapating my palate. Spice can certainly elevate dishes to another level and if you make your own you get to control the spiciness.

  14. Sophie33 says:

    It doesn’t matter what it looks like it is all about the taste & flavours! It only adds a lot of more of peaople’s interest! ;) MMMMMMMMMM! I loved taking part too!

  15. kristy says:

    I need those chips in my life!

  16. I love homemade chips. Those look out of this world good. I’m with you…. it’s great living near another vegan friend and tasting their amazing dishes. LUCKY! Thanks for sharing this dish it sounds wonderful.

  17. I love your idea to add green chilis to the hummus. Who doesn’t love the versatility of hummus? Mmmm…

  18. Lolly Busey says:

    Your chips and hummus sounds so delish! It’s been bookmarked! :)
    ~Lolly

  19. Homemade lime potato chips? Yum! I’m glad you came to the potluck – now if only I could actually eat them!

  20. Somer says:

    Adding chilies to hummus is awesome, and those sweet potato chips? You’re killing me!

  21. Melissa says:

    Sweet Potato chips?! Sounds amazing! Love this idea. :)

  22. Brittany says:

    Lime flavored chips are THE best. These look great!

  23. gigiveganville says:

    Spice and lime are the best!!! I’m late to the party. Any left?

  24. Oh yum!!! Thank you so much for posting this. :)

  25. Homemade chips, yum! There’s a recipe for salt & vinegar chips in the microwave that I’ve been meaning to try. Thanks for the kick in the pants. Errr, inspiration. :)

  26. Richgail Enriquez says:

    Homemade potato chips, my weakness!

  27. I’ve never made chips myself but these look great and I love the idea of the lime and chilli.

  28. bar says:

    I love that your hummus doesn’t need any oil. Definitely giving this a shot.

  29. Perfect combination – love it!
    Thank you!

  30. biggsis says:

    Oh how lovely! And I am with you – simplicity is almost always a necessary ingredient. I love sweet potato chips and these sound fabulous. Thanks for sharing!

  31. What a great party dish, and easy to make too!
    I don’t fry anything, but I will definitely try the chips baked.

    Thank you for a great recipe.

  32. I agree that part of what makes hummus so great is so easily customizable it is. Plus, it’s hard to mess up! There are so many hummus possibilities, and this sounds like a tasty one!

  33. I love green chilies, and get bored with hummus pretty quickly :P Definitely gonna try this!

  34. Omg I love hummus! I have several hummus recipes on my site! Never dipped it with sweet potato chips though…yummy! I absolutely love sweet potato chips! Looks delish.

  35. Say green chile and watch me come running!

  36. Yum! I will definitely have to try this! Jalapeño hummus is so good, and homemade chips? I want some.

  37. Julie says:

    Wow – this looks fantastic! Mental note….must get green chili peppers! Thanks for the post!

  38. I’ve been wanting to make sweet potato chips forever. Looks great!

  39. Oh YUMMM!! I was trying to think of something to do with my sweet potato the other day! I didn’t know I was supposed to be at your party! This looks amazing and I think your food decorating is pretty cute! :-)

  40. Vanessa says:

    Can never go wrong with hummus! Love the use of green chilis and lime!

  41. You need to update the link on your go forward and go back buttons, so that it goes to the actual post url not the blog url, because the chain is broken at this site.

  42. Your hummus makes me salivate, especially since I’m off all beans and legumes! LOVE the addition of chili–always a good idea!

  43. Richa says:

    these are perfect for me! spicy hummus and chips with the lime kick.. perfect!!

  44. Nihacc says:

    Oohhh, delicious! I would eat it right now :)

  45. Hi Reia, I’m just going through the VVP list checking out all the recipes. Getting tons of great ideas! In Japan, sweet potatoes are really popular, unfortunately limes are a bit harder to get hold of. I’ll give it a try with some lemon juice and see what happens…

    • I bet that would be equally delicious! It might actually compliment hummus even better since hummus has lemon in it. I would love to hear what you think if you do try it.
      Why are limes harder to get than lemons? I’d love to know; it’s always fun to learn about other countries’ food culture.

Leave a Reply

