The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Down and Dirty

on January 22, 2012

Let’s face it: leading a cruelty-free life is not all about looking pretty and eating compassionately. You are going to have to get your hands dirty with cleaning. Unless you can afford a maid, in which case you may not have to get dirty but you still have to find quality, cruelty free cleaning products for your maid to use. When Robert and I made the transition to testing-free products years ago, we had no idea what a huge undertaking it would be. We pretty much had to replace every household product because it was made by a huge corporation which performs animal testing (Unilever, Johnson&Johnson, etc) and we had to do a lot of research to find products we could use and were easily found at local stores.

Enter Seventh Generation, a line of household products which are not only cruelty free, but is a corporation which goes out of their way to practice ethical and sustainable missions. Their products are non-toxic and environmentally safe. They are also a company who meet the standards of the Coalition for Consumer Information on Cosmetics (CCIC) , which includes companies who ensure that animal testing does not occur in their final products or the ingredients they use in their products.

 

One of my favorite SeventhGen products are the disinfecting wipes. Realizing that Clorox and Lysol wipes were no longer an option for easy cleaning, these wipes have picked up the slack wonderfully. I have a small kitchen, so I like to be able to use just one wipe for quick jobs.

What I really like about these wipes is that they are not saturated with liquid the way most other wipes are. These contain the perfect amount of moisture to do the job, but not drip everywhere. They also have a pleasant smell, not the fake-lemon-alcohol smell that other wipes have. Much of this has to do with the fact that SeventhGen uses natural ingredients such as thyme oil and lemongrass to add fragrance to the wipes. But thyme extract also has the ability to disinfect, which I was not aware of, and if you are curious, read more about it here. The point is, you can achieve a clean home without using harsh artificial chemicals, and these wipes are safe for surfaces which come in contact with food.  As for the cleaning ability, I’ve found that they clean grease and oil very well, and are incredibly durable.  I pretty much use them everywhere, but I think they excel at cleaning the stove-top and the garbage can lid (which seems to get very dirty very quickly).  They really are good, general-use wipes. I’ve had the container of 70 wipes for almost a year and they haven’t dried out, and have obviously lasted quite a while, so even though they cost a little more than name-brand wipes I think they are worth every extra penny.  Especially if you have no maid to do the work for you 🙂

You can find all of Seventh Generation’s products here, and if you need a good list of cruelty-free products, check out www.caringconsumer.com and www.leapingbunny.org

4 responses to “Down and Dirty

  1. Barb says:

    We use SeventhGen too! And some Meyer’s clean day, but SeventhGen is a lot more affordable and easier to find!

    I think a lot of people (non-vegans especially) don’t realize that SeventhGen is cruelty-free, so it’s great to get the word out!

    • We use some Meyer’s too, as well as Method which I also really like, but SeventhGen is definitely easier to find. I also like that SeventhGen offers a lot of their products in hypo-allergenic forms or without dyes and perfumes.

  2. Brittany says:

    I love this brand. I use a lot of their cleaning items in my home (and have custom made a few, like doggy shampoo from their free and clear dish soap). However, these wipes have a very strong medicinal smell that my nose finds particularly offensive. It’s somewhere between campho and vicks vapor rub. A chill just ran up my spine thinking about that smell as I inhaled a huge lung full of what I expected to a cool refreshing lemon scent. NOT! I’m glad I was able to sniff them in the store. Love Seventh Gen, but this product needs some more R&D. Sorry guys.

    • I’m sorry you didn’t like them. It did take me a few times to get used to the smell because it was just unlike the other brands. But Seventh Gen does have a line of products that are hypo-allergenic with no added scents; maybe they will make their wipes in this as well sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

