The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

The Cutting Edge

on January 29, 2012

As I mentioned in my last post, taking on the task of transitioning to all cruelty free products wasn’t always easy. One of the hardest items to replace was our shaving razors. It was impossible to find razors that weren’t from Proctor and Gamble or any of the other no-no companies. We found some disposable razors at Whole Foods, but didn’t really like how they performed and wanted to find a reusable razor where we could just buy replacement blades.

After doing some online research, Robert ordered us a couple reusable razor handles from Hoke2, a company which creates razors from rubber and most importantly, is cruelty free. We liked the molded rubber handles and the suction cups you could attach to the wall of the shower, but the blades that came with them did not last long, and were only single-bladed. Fortunately, we found that Preserve’s  triple blade refills fit into the handle of the Hoke2, and were always available at Whole Foods.  Hoke2 products are only online, and you can find them at ebubbles.com

Now, a few years later, Preserve makes their own reusable razor handle, and Robert currently uses that. I still use my Hoke2. We do still use the Preserve triple-blade refills, and I really like them. They last about 1 1/2 -2 months with regular use, but usually the reason I have to replace them is because the area where they snap onto the handle breaks. Preserve products are made from recycled materials, so this might have something to do with that, but it never fails that it breaks when I already have one leg shaved 🙂

I recently Googled the subject of cruelty free razors to see if anything new had cropped up, and found some entries that suggest Schick is cruelty free. One blogger at My Beauty Bunny  said she emailed the rep at Schick and they insisted that they are cruelty free, but I’m hesitant to believe that. Schick still is not listed on PETA’s Caring Consumer website, so until that changes, I will err on the side of caution. If anyone knows something different about this, or if you have your own suggestions of what shaving razors/blades you use, I’d love to hear from you!

5 responses to “The Cutting Edge

  1. Barb says:

    Dude! I was just thinking this morning that I need a new razor (I’ve been using some freebie from some hotel). Does the Preserve handle suction to the wall too? Or should I buy the Hoke2 handle and the refills at WFM?

    • The Preserve doesn’t suction, and as far as I know the Hoke2 is the only one that does, so that’s what I’d do if your’re looking for something that sticks to the wall. I’ve only been able to find the refills at WFM, though I always look at Sunflower Market whenever I’m there. And I always buy some when they’re on sale, even if we don’t need them at the time, just because they’re a little pricey (about $10 for a 4 pack).

  2. David Walker says:

    I wanted to pass along another thought on a razor. Why not consider trying a safety razor? I have been using mine for a while and I love it. Just plug “safety razor” into Amazon. I personally love my Merkur Model 180 for about $35. If money is an issue try the
    Silver Tone Double Edge Blade Razor Shaver w Nonslip Metal Handle by Rosallini” for about $2. You can find dozens of quality razors with prices from $20 to $200. Almost all of them are cruelty free.

    You can buy a 100 pack of blades for about $15 and they will last you 2-4 years. If you buy a blade sharpener then you can probably make them last 5+ years.

    If you don’t know what a “safety razor” is then imagine a “Gillette sensor excel” except single blade. You will need to find the right razor and blade that works. Some razors give you a closer shave than others and some blades are duller or sharper than others. Even buying 5 x $30 razors to find the one that works for you will be cheaper than a life-time of cartridges.

    I have sensitive skin. The Merkur gives me an incredibly smooth shave without razor burn. I can shave in the mirror but I usually shave in the shower with soap or Bath & Body Works shaving cream for men. Either works fine.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

  3. H says:

    In Canada these razors are available on http://www.well.ca and they ship to the States.

Leave a Reply

