The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Sukhi’s Vegetable Naanwich

on February 9, 2012

I wish I could say that I eat all fresh and home cooked meals. And one of these days, I will be able to take more time to focus on cooking. But for now while I work full time and go to school, I will take what shortcuts I can. And one of those shortcuts come in the form of the frozen Naanwich. Robert and I came across these at Whole Foods a while back and decided to give them a try. Of course I opted for the Garden Vegetable variety and took it to work for lunch.

Basically the naanwich is a piece of naan stuffed with spiced potatoes, carrots and peas. Almost as soon as it started cooking in the microwave, the lovely aromatics filled the breakroom. Everyone thought I had brought leftover Indian food for lunch, the smell was that good. I love the smell of the spices used in Indian cooking, and I love naan, so this was a natural yummy combo for me.  I was pleasantly surprised at how soft and chewy the naan stayed while still producing a steamy hot interior. The veggies were perfectly spiced and even the potatoes retained a little bit of a bite to prived a bit of textural contrast. The portion size is perfect for a quick and filling lunch. And I didn’t even realize this until I checked out the website, but it’s vegan! The only thing I would like is some sort of sauce because the sandwich is a bit dry, but I know that would be hard to do for a frozen sandwich.

I didn’t keep the wrapper to give you the nutritional info and it isn’t available on the website, but I do remember it being realtively healthy, at least as far as frozen meals go. Besides, anything that contains mostly veggies is good, right?  In any case, it’s nice to have a vegan Indian alternative in the frozen foods section for those days when you just don’t have the time to make a ‘proper’ lunch. You can find where Sukhi’s products are near you at their website http://www.sukhis.com . They also have many of their products available for sale online, including the Naanwich, but are only sold in a pack of 24 for $79. So unless you have a lot of freezer space, this probably isn’t an option. I did see that  they have a Veggie Masala burger naanwich that I haven’t seen before, so I hope they decide to bring it to stores soon!

2 responses to “Sukhi’s Vegetable Naanwich

  1. Barb says:

    How interesting! I’ve never heard of that brand before… I love, love, love sandwiches though! I’ll have to give this one a try!

  2. Zaida Eversoll says:

    A small vegetable garden in your own backyard can bring you many benefits. Not only will you realize the creative benefits of gardening, you will grow fresh produce for your family and the local food pantry. Gardening can be a family affair with your children acquiring gardening skills that can be passed on to their own children.*

    Latest blog post straight from our new blog
    <'http://www.prettygoddess.com/

Leave a Reply

