The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Pacifica Perfume

on March 23, 2012

During a recent shopping spree research outing at Whole Foods to find new products to try and review, I came across Pacifica Perfumes. I am a sucker for good smells and pretty packaging, and I couldn’t help but try some of the perfumes displayed. I smelled the Island Vanilla, sniffed the Persian Rose, and whiffed the Spanish Amber. Then I picked up the Hawaiian Ruby Guava, and as I put my nose to the nozzle, I was immediately transported to Coronado Beach in San Diego, and the first time I saw the ocean. It was only a few years ago, but the scent just brought back such a strong association to the coast and walking along the shore. Maybe it’s because of the coconut notes in the scent, or just the fact that it was the first day of spring and I really wanted nothing more than to be on vacation.  Either way, the scent, along with the bright, floral colors of the package resulted in a purchase.

The perfumes come in a variety of applications: spray, roll-on, and solid. I chose the roll-on tube because it is compact enough to fit in my makeup bag in my purse for easy reapplication. Although they do use alcohol in the spray and roll-on forms, it is natural and gluten-free, and does not at all have the strong alcohol smell that can ruin even the best of scents. That, combined with natural essential oils makes for a pure, clean scent. You can really smell the fruits in the perfume; the Ruby Guava has guava, coconut, and pomelo. It smells so juicy; I could almost pour it over some ice and add a bit of rum!  My only complaint is that the scent, while it is nice and strong when you put it on, doesn’t seem to last more than a few hours. I apply it to pulse points; behind the ears, wrists, and neck, which in theory helps fragrance last longer on your body. Maybe I just get used to the smell being on my, but after a while I couldn’t smell it any more. However, I can’t really complain about reapplying because every time I did, I got an immediate boost to my spirit, and honestly, I can use a lot of those during a 12 hour work shift! I can’t wait until my current supply of body wash and lotion runs low so that I can have an excuse to try those products as well.

Pacifica Perfumes is an all vegan, cruelty-free company that makes perfumes, body washes, lotions, candles, lip and body tints. Their fragrances are divided into four categories: florals, fruits, herbs and spices, and woods and resins, so you should be able to find any scent that suits your personality and/or mood. I personally like to match my fragrances to the season, so once it gets back to fall I’ll probably switch to the more ‘spicy’ scents. They also have a lot of philanthropic missions, including donating 1% of sales of their Island Vanilla products to the Ocean Futures Society, using 100% recycled packaging, and donating products to local women’s shelters.

Most Whole Foods carry their products but you can also order all their products online. With fragrance products this can be a little stressful since you can’t actually smell it and have to rely on the scent description to decide if it’s right for you, so if you can try them in the store, I highly recommend it. However, there is a lot to be said for taking a risk and with a quality product like this, how can you go wrong?

5 responses to “Pacifica Perfume

  1. Barb says:

    Now you’ve made me miss San Diego… But the perfume sounds so nice!

  2. Jess says:

    I’ve noticed the same thing. I recently bought the Tuscan Blood Orange roll-on perfume. I love the way it smells, but the fragrance seems to disappear right away (even sooner than the few hours you mentioned). I wondered if the fragrance of the solid perfume might last longer.

  3. sophie says:

    They aren’t completely vegan. I saw that the eyeshadows contain lanolin.

    • Hmmm…I just looked at the ingredients and it says specifically that they are made without lanolin, or any other animal ingredients. I’m not sure where you read that info, but I don’t think it’s right. This is the ingredient list for the eyeshadows directly from their website:

      Formulated without: Phthalates, parabens, carmine, beeswax, lanolin, mineral oils, propylene glycol, petroleum and FD& C colors (along with other nasties you do not want on your skin). No animal testing. Gluten-free, 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

      Radiant Shimmer:
      INGREDIENTS: ETHYLHEXYL PALMITATE, SILICA, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE,HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL, OZOKERITE, COPERNICIA CERIFERA(CARNAUBA) WAX, CETYL PALMITATE, EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX,FRAGRANCE (all natural), PHENOXYETHANOL, CARTHAMUS TINCTORIUS (SAFFLOWER) SEEDOIL, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE (vitamin E), WATER, MACROCYSTIS PYRIFERA EXTRACT,COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) EXTRACT, SODIUM HYALURONATE. MAY CONTAIN: MICA,TITANIUM DIOXIDE, IRON OXIDES.

      Enlighten Eye Brightening Shimmer:
      Ingredients: mica, zinc stearate, ethylhexyl state, dimethicone, carthamus tinctorius(safflower) seed oil, cocos nucifera (coconut) water, phenoxyethanol, macrocystis pyriferaextract, withania somnifera root extract. May contain: silica, polymethylsilsesquioxane, calciumsodium borosilicate, iron oxides CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, titanium dioxide CI 77891, CI77510, chromium oxide greens CI 77288, ultramarines CI 77007, manganese violet CI 77742

Leave a Reply

