The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Hair SOS

on March 31, 2012

 

I am what you would call a ‘minimalist’ when it comes to my looks. In other words I try to spend as little time as possible getting ready for the day in order to maximize my sleep time. I’ve never been one to do a lot with my hair or wear any makeup. However, since turning 30 (!) last year I have become a little vainer and I want to look as if I didn’t just roll out of bed.

One change I made was to update my hairstyle. For years I had long hair that I did nothing with except pull it into a ponytail. If you’ve seen my henna hair dye posts, you can tell that I’ve made quite a drastic change to a short bob. This has forced me to actually style my hair each day since a ponytail is no longer an option.

However all that styling (blow drying every day and occasional curling) has taken a toll on my already fine, thin hair. Enter Giovanni Deep Hair Reconstructor.  This cruelty-free and vegan hair repair product has helped keep my hair soft and healthy despite the damage I do to it. I use it about once a week in place of my usual conditioner. What I love about this product is that a little goes a long, long way. For my hair length (right at ear lobe level) I only have to use about a dime-sized amount. It is a very thick formula with a mild scent. It has to be left in for 10 minutes for the best results but I do really notice a difference after I use it. My hair feels lighter and softer and I get compliments from hair stylists on how healthy it is. The only drawback is that because it’s so thick (and needs more time) it can take a little more effort to wash out than regular conditioner so plan your shower length accordingly.

Giovanni has a huge line of hair products and has recently expanded to body and facial care. All their products are vegan except their lip balms and Magnetic hair care line. They use a lot of organic oils from renewable plant sources and are still a family owned company. Their goal is to provide salon-quality products at reasonable prices and they can be found at many large-scale retailers including Walmart and Target.  Check out their entire line of products here.

2 responses to “Hair SOS

  1. Great review! I’m always on the look out for all natural products!

  2. Thank you! I really appreciate the feedback!

Leave a Reply

