The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Mineral Fusion

on April 8, 2012

 

Mineral-based makeup has become a very popular trend since Bare Minerals broke onto the scene a few years ago. The benefits of mineral makeup are numerous:  It provides natural UVA and UVB protection, it doesn’t clog skin’s pores, it’s naturally hypoallergenic, and it has anti-inflammatory properties, among other things. Who doesn’t want a makeup that provides those kinds of benefits?

I have never been one to wear makeup, especially foundations because they felt too heavy on my face. I couldn’t wait to get home and wash it off. But, I’ve never tried mineral makeup before and when I discovered Mineral Fusion at Whole Foods a few weeks back I decided to give it a shot.   Mineral Fusion offers 3 kinds of foundations: Loose (powder), Pressed (powder), and Sheer (liquid). I chose the Sheer in Neutral (the lightest color-the other 2 colors are Warm and Olive) and have been using it almost every day.  I am now a huge believer in mineral makeup. It is so much lighter than typical foundations and because they don’t sink into the pores, I don’t have to use nearly as much to get complete coverage and it goes on very smooth. I occasionally have to blot my face to get rid of some of the shine from oil, but that’s just my natural skin type and I have to do it without makeup on too. I really just like having a foundation that doesn’t make me feel like I have a mask on all day. The Sheer foundation provides great all-day coverage and hydration. In addition to the minerals in the formula, the foundation has Pomegranate, Red Tea, White Tea and Sea Kelp which offers antioxidant protection. I still use an SPF moisturizer underneath the foundation only because I don’t know how much protection mineral makeup offers, but it is nice to know I have a little extra barrier between me and the sun.

Another product I bought was the Hydration Mist, which helps to set the minerals and provide  extra hydration. The idea is to spray this on after applying the foundation . I thought this would make the makeup oily, but it actually provided a dewy look. I only use it in the morning, but it can be used it anytime to provide a little refreshment and revive your look. It has a very mild scent and it contains Chamomile, White Tea, Burdock Root and Sea Kelp, all of which help soothe and nourish the skin.

So, what sets Mineral Fusion apart from other mineral makeup companies? For one thing they are a Denver-based company and I love supporting local businesses! They have a whole line of makeup, as well as hair care, body care and skin care products, all mineral-based. They are free of gluten, parabens, artificial colors, fragrances and talc.  All of their products are vegetarian and most are vegan (some of their lip products contain beeswax) and a portion of their proceeds goes to The National Coalition against Domestic Violence, a non-profit organization that provides education and support for victims of domestic abuse. Mineral Fusion does not currently offer their products for purchase online, but they are in many health-food stores and you can use their store locator to see if they are in a store near you. Check out their entire line of products here and discover the benefits of cruelty-free minerals for yourself!

3 responses to “Mineral Fusion

  1. Barb says:

    I might try this! Unless, of course, you find one that’s amazing for oily skin- then I’ll go with that one 🙂

    • This stuff is pretty good for oily skin because you don’t have to use a lot of it. I haven’t noticed an increase in oiliness since using it and that’s usually a big problem for me. So far this is the best foundation I’ve used. And it’s nice because I feel like I can work up a bit of a sweat without feeling like my face is melting off!

  2. […] over debating on what new products to try. And I came across Mineral Fusion’s Nail Lacquer stand. I’ve reviewed MF’s products in the past so I was very excited to see a line of polishes from them. I had to resist buying one of […]

Leave a Reply

