The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Kreativ Blogger

on April 26, 2012

I’m still new to the blogiverse, so I’m not sure how all these awards work, but I just noticed that Dudette nominated me for a Kreativ Blogger award! It’s really an honor to be recognized by others and I really, truly wish I could spend all my time perusing the thousands of blogs that promote vegetarian and vegan lifestyles. I have learned a lot and every blog has something unique to offer. Dudette’s blog features vegetarian recipes and quotes from The Big Lebowski. I can’t think of a more unique combo than that!

That being said, the rules of the Kreativ Blooger award limits me to seven nominations which is extremely difficult to do! Maybe if I get nominated for more awards I can mention more blogs (hint, hint 🙂 )

The rules are as follows: If you accept the award, thank and provide a like to the person who nominates you; nominate 7 other blogs and provide links, and list 7 things that others might not know about you.

Thank you again Dudette for nominating me! I really appreciate it!

Here are my nominations for the Kreativ Blogger Award:

That Was Vegan? I actually have known Barb for many years-her husband and my boyfriend are childhood pals. It was Barb’s suggestion that I start this blog and I have to say, it’s really nice to be able to put a face to the name! Barb’s site features wonderful vegan recipes that are super easy to make, accompanied by her lovely pictures. Thanks, Barb for giving me the courage to do this!

The Adventures of Vegan Charlie Charile is a fellow nursing student who blogs all kinds of stuff: vegan cooking, animals rights, and just some random thoughts. One of her recent posts, Beautifully Sad, made me cry at work. It is a must read, but do so only armed with a box of tissues at hand.

The Veggie Nook Gabby blogs just about some of the healthiest vegan recipes out there! She is currently doing a cleanse and I love following her posts to see how she is doing.

The “V” Word Rhea (yes we have the same name!) blogs vegan and gluten-free recipes.  Reading her journey about her health and weight struggles is very inspiring and proof positive that a vegan diet is much more beneficial than some would think.

The Tolerant Vegan Another great blog full of yummy vegan recipes. We share the sturggle of having tiny kitchens to try to cook in. But I’ll admit it, I mostly visit for Nikki’s pictures of her adorable cats!

Vegan Crunk Vegan junk food? Um, yes please! Bianca posts recipes, book reviews and new product reviews. I am secretly (well, not anymore I guess) very jealous that she gets to review new vegan products before they hit the market. I need that gig! She has a cookbook coming out this summer that I will no doubt be adding to my collection.

Green Vegan Living I think this was the first site I stumbled upon that mentioned my blog (besides Barb’s of course). I was shocked that there really were people reading my blog! Geanna lives in Portland and blogs her recipes as well as restaurant reviews. If I ever go to Protland, I’ll know right where to dine!

And the moment you’ve been waiting for: 7 things about me you don’t know and could probably live without knowing 🙂

1. I don’t like mushrooms. My boyfriend thinks it will be impossilbe for me to become vegan if I won’t eat mushrooms, but I will prove him wrong!

2. I have more animated movies in my Bluray collection than live-action ones.

3. I have four tattoos and my next one is going to be a series of cat paws on my shoulder blade.

4. I don’t feel guilty about sleeping in until noon on my days off.

5. My bucket list includes swimming with whale sharks.

6. I’m only 5 feet tall; I have some very toned calves from standing on my tip toes a lot! Too bad I can’t spread that toning around a bit…

7. I think Ricky Gervais is a friggin’ genius. He’s an animal lover, vegetarian, and creator of the funniest tv show The Ricky Gervais Show.  If you don’t know who Karl Pilkinton is you are seriously missing out.

That’s about it! I hope you check out the blogs I mentioned if you haven’t already and maybe discover a new favorite! Thank you to all my followers!

 

4 responses to “Kreativ Blogger

  1. Barb says:

    Why thank you! I already read most of the blogs you mentioned, but that last one is new to me, I’ll have to check it out. Have you ever noticed that Nikki’s Court Kitty (from The Tolerant Vegan) looks almost identical to Olivia? Right down to the TNR snipped ear!

    As for mushrooms… I used to hate them, but have recently developed a grudging respect for them. I recommend you sample one of the marinated portabellos at Garbonzos- it might just change your mind!

    And as for Ricky Gervais- have you watched Life’s Too Short on HBO? It’s snort-water-out-your-nose-repeatedly funny! He created it, and although he’s not the star, he’s on it pretty often.

    • We have watched Life’s Too Short-incredibly funny. I really like his British series Extras-it was only 2 seasons, but it was hilarious.

      I did notice that about Court Kitty. Her cats love to be in boxes, just like mine 🙂
      I’ll give those portabellas a shot-it really would make life easier if I started liking them!

  2. Aww thank you so much Rhea 🙂 You are a sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

