The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Virtual Vegan Potluck: Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake

on May 12, 2012

First of all, let me apologize for my lack of posts the last few weeks. Between school finals, stress at work, and the flare up of a chronic health issue I really have not been in the mood (nor had the time) to put any really thoughtful reviews up. But now that school is over and I have my energy back I promise you will see more steady entries!

On to my potluck entry—Vegan Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake.  I cannot take credit for the recipes, just the inspiration to combine them. Robert and I watched an episode of Bitchin Kitchen a while back and Nadia made an awesome-looking Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake that made my mouth water. After the episode Robert’s immediate reaction was “You need to make that for me.” Unfortunately, Nadia’s version involves making meringues, a water bath, and uses eggs. I’m not a baker. I barely qualify as a home cook so I knew that recipe was way over my skill set. Plus I really didn’t want to make anything that used eggs. I may not be entirely vegan yet, but eggs are a no-no regardless.

I thought maybe I could find a vegan cheesecake recipe and add the key limes and habanero to it. I know, for someone who knows crap-all about baking, messing with a baking recipe was taking a huge risk. But once the idea got in my head I couldn’t let it go. So I did what any self-respecting person does when they need to find anything. I Googled vegan cheesecake recipe, and voila! The first entry that came up was from Hungry Hungry Hippie, a blog I already read on a regular basis. Elise’s version looked super easy to make so that’s the recipe I went with.

Wouldn’t you know that by just replacing the lemon from Elise’s version with ¼ cup of key lime juice and 1 minced habanero I made such a yummy cheesecake that Robert and I ate half in one night (hey, they were fairly small pieces!). I was truly amazed at how much like cheesecake this version tasted. It had the same consistency and look and just the right amount of sweetness. The habanero added pretty little flecks of orange and was not overpowering at all. It built up to a slow burn at the back of my mouth and was balanced perfectly with the coulis from Nadia’s version.

I was so happy with my success that I made it again about a week later. But I tried to take a few shortcuts. WRONG! First of all, DO NOT, under penalty of death (or penalty of a runny cheesecake) use canned or bottled key lime juice. I was lazy and didn’t want to go to several different stores looking for key limes so I bought the bottled stuff. And it came out runny. The taste was fine but the cake didn’t set in the middle and basically disintegrated the crust. Again, I don’t know a lot about baking, but my guess is that the consistency from real key limes is different than concentrated juice so it’s not as runny. Maybe cutting back on the concentrated juice would have worked but maybe not. Plus fresh key limes are nice and tart and you just don’t get that with the bottled stuff.

Second, I couldn’t find raw cashews so I bought raw ones that were lightly salted (again, laziness on my part). I rinsed them really well before soaking then rinsed them again but I can’t be sure that using salted ones didn’t contribute to the runniness of the cake.  I also didn’t press my tofu the second time so that probably didn’t help either.

Basically, don’t get lazy with this recipe! It really is very easy to make (aside from juicing the key limes) and you will be rewarded for your time. For reference (and proper credit to the gals who made this idea possible!)  you can find the original recipe from Nadia G here and the vegan cheesecake recipe from Hungry Hungry Hippie here. The recipe I post below is the combination of the two. I reduced the coulis recipe by half because I think it just made too much and I have no idea where to find hibiscus flowers, so I used dried cranberries I already had on hand. I also used a store-bought chocolate crust but if you have the inclination, certainly make your own!

I hope you enjoy and sorry about the long entry! This did require a bit of explanation in order to really emphasize the importance of using the proper ingredients. I made the mistakes for you so you won’t have to!

Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake

Yeah, it looks plain, but don’t be fooled!

Ingredients:

1 cup raw cashews, soaked for minimum of 1 hour

¼ block extra firm tofu (approx. 4oz), pressed

4oz vegan sour cream

4oz vegan cream cheese

2/3 cup maple syrup

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Approx 7-10 key limes , plus 2 additional for the sauce

1tbs key lime zest

½-1 habanero pepper, seeded and finely minced. I used a whole one and I could handle the heat just fine, but use your judgment and preferred spice preference.

9-inch pie crust (I used Wholly Wholesome Chocolate premade crust), or make your own.

For the sauce/coulis:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup water

2 key limes, juiced

Handful of dried cranberries (or hibiscus flower, if you can find it)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Juice ¼ cup of key limes. This takes about 7-10 key limes depending on size and juiciness. If you bought them and refrigerated them, make sure you bring them to room temp before juicing. Roll them before cutting to loosen the juice. Once done, strain out the seeds and set aside.

Drain the cashews and add to the blender, along with the habanero, sour cream, cream cheese, tofu, vanilla, maple syrup, key lime juice and zest. Blend until smooth. The longer you soak the cashews the quicker this will go. Make sure the filling is super-smooth. Just let the blender go for a few minutes then check the consistency and blend more if needed.

Pour into pie crust and bake at 350 for 20 minutes, then turn heat down to 250 and bake an additional 20-25 minutes. This prevents the crust from burning. I also turned the cake 180 degrees when I turned the heat down.

Let cool at room temp before chilling in the fridge.

To make the coulis: Add sugar, water, key lime juice and cranberries to a small sauce pot and bring to a boil, whisking to dissolve the sugar. Reduce to a simmer and stir occasionally for about 20 minutes until the cranberries are nice and plump. Nadia’s recipe says to reduce the sauce by half, but it seems like no matter how long I let it simmer, it doesn’t reduce. So I just make sure it’s cooled before putting on the cake.

Slice a piece of cake, drizzle some coulis on top and enjoy! I recommend storing the coulis in a separate container and adding it on an as-eating basis so it doesn’t soak through your crust. Store any uneaten cheesecake (if any remains!) covered in the fridge. I don’t know how long it would store; ours didn’t last more than 3 days and I’m guessing yours won’t either!

Don’t forget to check out the other entries!

46 responses to “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake

  1. This is so unique! Wonderful addition to the potluck 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    You had me at habanero..YUM!

  3. Barb says:

    Yum! Can’t wait till you make another one to share with me 🙂

  4. A very interesting looking dessert, it’s unusual and sounds delicious!

  5. What a creative combination!

  6. That cheesecake is a stunner! The flavor combination – wow! Tastebuds going happy-crazy! Thanks for this unique recipe, for working through runny custard and for taking part in the VVP!

  7. Habanero and Key Lime all in a cheesecake! Three of my favorite things! AND VEGAN! Make that 4 of my favorite things!

  8. iatelunch says:

    What a wonderful, unique dessert. More please!

  9. I love the idea of putting habanero in- never in a million of years would have thought of that. Thanks for making all those mistakes so I don’t have to!

    Love, B

  10. This is a winner – love the idea of the flavour combo – can’t wait to try it! xx

  11. Food Stories says:

    Just making my way through the virtual vegan potluck and wanted to say hello 🙂

  12. vegancharlie says:

    I love lime anything! so delicious, habanero peppers scare me but I love myself some spice! I would love to try this! nice post

  13. what a wonderful recipe, love fresh limes

  14. WHOOHOO!! I love tangy cheesecake and this one sounds zany and fun! Nom!

  15. Mhmm, what a yummy looking cheesecake!

  16. VeganFling says:

    I have some key lime fans in my family that would love this. Thanks for the fun recipe!

  17. elise says:

    awesome! looks like it turned out very well!!

  18. […] Cocoa Chocolate Chunk Cookie topped Zucchini Brownies by Blissful Brit: HOW IS THIS HAPPENING?! Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake by The Cruelty Free Review: Oh my goodness, Key Lime, Habanero, cheesecake, and vegan. All of my favorite things in one place. […]

  19. A vegan cheesecake? May I please come over asap and have some 😉
    It looks amazing 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  20. Richgail Enriquez says:

    Ok, what???!!! My mind just exploded. I’m bookmarking this. Thanks for sharing!

  21. My husband is going to flip out…he LOVES hot peppers in different desserts…this one is a new one for us! 🙂

  22. You had me at lime and habanero. This looks like a dessert I need to make STAT. Thank you!

  23. […] Key Lime Habanero Cheesecake […]

Leave a Reply

