The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

The Battle of the Bulge

on May 17, 2012

Well, I can no longer deny it—I need to lose weight. The last month has not been kind to my waistline, thanks to finals and being sick. I’m not making excuses—I know full well that I have not been attentive to my diet and exercise schedule. I keep thinking “I’ll make up for that tomorrow.” Tomorrow has come and gone several times now. The final straw was sitting at dinner last weekend and feeling so uncomfortable because my jeans were digging into my stomach. But I kept eating until my plate was empty. Then we went to the movies and I ate popcorn. Not a lot, but I shouldn’t have eaten any after the huge pasta meal I’d just had. And jellybeans. I also had jellybeans. I felt like a pig.

No more. I bought two cute spring dresses today but I will not wear them until I’ve dropped the eight pounds I’ve put on. I know that might not sound like a lot, but I’m only 5 feet tall; any weight I gain goes straight to the gut.  I’m taking small steps like making sure I hit the gym or go for a jog on the weekends. If I have down time at work I got into a room and do a kickboxing or cardio circuit. The most recent issue of Fitness has a killer all-over toning routine that I’ve done twice now. And my quads, though incredibly sore, are thanking me. I know all the right things to do when it comes to exercise, but my diet? Well, that’s another story.

I know what I should be eating. My problem is appetite control. I eat when I’m hungry. I eat when I’m bored. I eat because there is food in my fridge. I eat when I’m mad, sad, glad, and any other feeling you can think of. So while I might be eating otherwise healthy foods, I am eating way too much of it. Pasta is fine, just not 3 cups of it. But damn it if that’s what Macaroni Grill gives me then I’m not going to let it go to waste! And I certainly will not let the giant loaf of free bread go to waste either. Portion control and discipline are not strengths of mine apparently.

But this morning I was inspired. I went to Whole Foods and bought a ton of fresh fruit and veggies for salads. I got the ingredients to make some healthy trail mix cookies for snacks and hiking this weekend. I also bought a container of Vega. If you don’t know what Vega is, check it out here. Basically it is a vegan meal supplement that provides 50% of the RDI for vitamins and minerals, 15g of protein and 6g of fiber, as well as antioxidants, probiotics, greens, and Omega 3. I’m not one to put a lot of faith in the claims of supplements so I did my research and I read a lot of positive things about it. I really plan on using it only once a day, either as my breakfast or lunch and I will be doing a full review in a few weeks after I gauge the results. I am going to be more disciplined in my eating habits, especially when eating out. I tend to not eat breakfast on the weekends so I’m hoping the Vega smoothie will keep me from binge eating in the afternoon. I am ready to make a positive change in my life and willing to put in the effort required. I’m off to a great start today: A healthy breakfast, lots of fruit and a hearty roasted veggie pasta. I measured out 1 cup of pasta then loaded on the veggies. I was surprised at how much 1 cup actually is; to think I’d been eating 3 times as much! I did the kick-butt workout from Fitness and I have my lunch and dinner ready for work tomorrow. I know the hourney back to a healthy weight will take longer than it did to get where I am now, but I think-I know-I’m going in the right direction.

That being said, I will give myself some wiggle room for treats. Starting with this:

DaiYUM!

So, what should I make? Grilled Cheese? Quesadillas? Something else? Give me your ideas!

 

7 responses to “The Battle of the Bulge

  1. You sound like you have given this a lot of thought and have a super solid plan in place! Good luck (even though you don’t need it)! Your journey sounds pretty delicious too, so should make it that much easier right?

    I’m interested to hear your take on Vega! I’ve been using it on an off for a few months, mostly in smoothies and only like 1/4-1/2 serving sizes so I’m curious about it’s ability to replace a meal and all that. I look forward to hearing your take on it!

  2. Hmm….daiya is so good for so many things. I have yet to try the blocks, but I’m familiar with the shreds. What I’ve learned is that a little goes a long way. When used on pizza, sprinkle lightly, when used in sandwiches, slice thinly. If it were me, I’d make grilled “cheese” first. 🙂

  3. validvegan says:

    I want to try the Daiya wedges so bad! A huge grilled cheese sounds soo good!!

    OH and I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award!

    http://validvegan.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/one-lovely-blog-award-19/

Leave a Reply

