The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Jars of Clay

on May 29, 2012

I am a bit addicted to facial masks. I rarely use the same kind twice because I usually have found a different one I want to try by the time I’m finished using the current one I have. I don’t know why I can’t commit to just one; the only exception is LUSH’s fresh faced masks (one of which I reviewed here). My current fave is Catastrophe Cosmetic. Unfortunately since the masks only stay fresh for about 2-3 weeks I don’t always have it on hand and can’t justify a trip to LUSH every few weeks to get more, mostly because I can’t by just one thing there and those trips become expensive.

So I always have a non-perishable mask on hand and most recently it was Evanhealy’s French Rose Clay mask. Another find at Whole Foods, Evanhealy is a line of facial products created by holistic aesthetician Evan Healy. The products are 100% plant-based and vegan. The ingredients are sourced from family-owned farms in the US and self-governed women’s co-ops and village-run farms In Morocco, Ghana, Somaliland, and India. There are three lines of treatment that focus on particular skin conditions; the Rose line is for oily/dry, mature, and delicate skin; the Blue line treats normal, sensitive, allergic skin and is also good for skin conditions such as rosacea, eczema, and psoriasis and the Blemish line works for acne-prone, congested, and oily skin. Each line has a full range of products including cleansers, moisturizers, toners, serums, eye creams, and masks.

There are two clay masks available; Rose and Green Tea. The benefits are similar for both; they remove excess oil, draw pimples and blackheads to the skin surface, and reduce the appearance of pores. The Green Tea mask boasts anti-oxidant properties while the Rose mask has exfoliating properties.

The Rose clay mask is just that: clay. Rose clay and Moroccan rhassoul clay, to be exact. It is dried clay that you mix with water to create a paste and apply to the skin. The first problem I encountered with this was finding something to mix the clay in. The jar is 2.1 ounces, and obviously I didn’t need to use the whole amount so I had to find a small bowl I was willing to sacrifice. The directions say only to mix equal parts water and clay so I had no idea how much to use to make enough. In my infinite wisdom I decided to just dump some clay in the bowl and add what appeared to be enough water. I over-estimated though and ended up with an entirely too-watery mix. My next genius idea was to add more clay to thicken the mix up. I was trying to shake just a small amount in and ended up dumping almost half the jar (the $24 jar, mind you) which made the mix too thick. I turned on the faucet to a drip and added water little by little, mixing with my fingers until I finally got a paste-like consistency. I applied the mixture to my face and neck and had almost half the mix leftover that I just had to waste.

After about ten minutes then mask was dry and I went to wash it off.  I’ve never been one to just splash water on my face to remove cleansers or masks; I use a washcloth. The washcloth I was using was light pink and the clay, which turns red when water is added, immediately turned my washcloth red. The problem was that the clay didn’t come out of the cloth immediately. It took a good week or so of regular use for it to return to its old pink color. On subsequent uses I tried rising off using my hands but the water just ran down my arms and dripped onto the floor. Also the clay is so fine that that I had to rinse my sink for several minutes to get all the little particles down the drain. When I rinsed out the leftovers from my first use the clay clogged the sink and I ended up using Draino after it finally drained to make sure it didn’t clog further down.

On the plus side my skin felt wonderful, very soft and clean. While the clay is drying it becomes cool and that felt great on my flushed skin after a workout. Unfortunately I don’t think it provides benefits that I can’t get from other masks and considering the cost and messiness I probably won’t try it again. I would be interested in trying some other products from Evanhealy especially since they promote organic and sustainable ingredients, but the clay masks just are not for me. You can check out the entire product line here and can shop online or use the locator to find a store near you that carries Evenhealy products.

2 responses to “Jars of Clay

  1. Barb says:

    I think Jason would kill me if I made a mess I had clay-water running down my arms all over the pretty new bathroom he built for me, but the end result sounds really nice!

Leave a Reply

