The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Shake, shake, shake…and some other random stuff

on June 7, 2012

Before I get to the review for this week I have a few little odd n’ ends I want to address.

First, I just started the Insanity workout. If you haven’t seen the infomericals for this program, check it out here. Yeah, that’s what I’m going to put myself through. I’m on day 3 and I already feel more in shape and very empowered by how well I’ve kept up. But it’s a 60-day program, 6 days a week so we’ll see how I hold up. Just don’t be alarmed if I disappear off the blogoverse…it might be because I’m still trying to pull myself off the floor 🙂

Second, for all you Denver veggies out there, the Vegan Van will be at Civic Center Park every Thursday! Barb and I went there for lunch today and it was awesome! Unfortuantely they don’t offer their full menu, so I hope it rotates each week because I want to try everything. Barb had the Groovy Ruby-a reuben with Denver Seitan Corned Befe, curry kraut, and horseradish beet creme. I looked cool becasue the creme was pink; not something you see in a sammie often! I had the Freak Out-veggie balls with herbed marinara and avocado pesto ricotta. It was so good, the meatballs had a great taste and the ricotta was a unique and yummy twist on the usual provelone cheese addition to most non-vagan meatball sandwiches. I didn’t take a pic this time, but I get the feeling we’ll be eating there just about every week, so I’ll make sure to post some next time!

Speaking of Barb, she got an awsome shout-out from Daiya today: her mac-n-cheese bread bowls were listed at top of their monthly recipe round up! Congrats Barb, and if you haven’t visited her blog yet, go now! No, wait, go after you finish my post 🙂

Some not-so-great news: Urban Decay is no longer cruelty-free. I found this out from My Beauty Bunny. They have decided to sell their products in China, a country that still requires animal testing. UB won’t perform the testing, so they claim they are still technically cruelty-free, but that’s a matter of semantics.  Read the entire article here, which includes CCIC’s position on why they are removing UB from the Leaping Bunny list and UBs statement.

Okay, so on to the review. When I decided I was going to try Vega One protein mix I knew that I needed a good bottle to shake it up in. Wouldn’t you know that right by all the protein powders there were a lot of bottles made specifically for mixing. I love trying out new gadgets and I saw the Blender Bottle. Specifically made for mixing, the BB comes in 20oz and 28oz capacity and claims that the patented wire whisk can mix the thickest  ingredients into a smooth liquid. So, does it work?

Warning: A Sorta-Scientific Experiment Ahead

I bough two 20oz bottles; one for me and one for Robert. For the experiment I put a half scoop of Vegan into each bottle, added 4oz of Silk Juice and Protein to each and added the whisk to one bottle. I capped them and shook each one for 20 seconds. I uncapped each, looked for lumps (neither had any) and took a drink from each to assess for grittiness. I can honeslty say I couldn’t tell the difference between the two. As with just about any kind of protein powder, some ‘chalkiness’ remained, but that’s pretty normal. I don’t think any powder will ever be good enough to mix completely. Maybe the BB works best with larger amounts but I have used it with a full scoop of Vega and 10oz of liquid and the consistency was the same.

There might be a little less ‘grit’ in this bottle, but really it’s hard to tell

I do like that the lid caps very tightly but you have to make sure you push it down hard until it snaps or else you’ll have smoothie all over the wall. However I feel confident that this could tip and wouldn’t leak a drop. The lid and bottle are dishwasher safe, but not microvave safe and they don’t recommend putting hot liquids into the bottle. There are measurement lines so it’s easy to see how much you’re pouring in although they can be a little difficult to see with clear or light liquids.  They fit perfectly into a cup holder and the mouthpiece is about the size of a regular 20oz bottle so it’s easy to drink from without fear of making a mess, especially if you drink and drive like I do 🙂

All in all, it’s probably a gimmick and I’ve already seen knock-offs for sale at my gym but in the end I still fell like I got a quality bottle for $9 that serves its purpose. Blender Bottle now offers Sport bottles that feature rubber grips and a loop for carrying and come in more vibrant colors. All the bottles are BPA-free. Check out all their products at blenderbottle.com

14 responses to “Shake, shake, shake…and some other random stuff

  1. I have one of those shaker bottles! It’s the same brand but one done up specially for Vega (although all those Vega markings on it are coming off) and I love it! Does a pretty good job shaking ‘er up. My only complaint- that wire whisk is loud when I’m shaking away lol

  2. Barb says:

    Interesting… I’ve never even heard of those! Can’t wait to hit the Vegan Van again next Thursday!

  3. I’ve heard so many things about the Insanity workout. I hope you love it! 😀 And I just got one of those shaker bottles (although I haven’t used it yet!!!)

  4. vegancharlie says:

    I bought one of these during the school year so that I could run out of my dorm with a shake and not have to worry about using the blender I love it!! I wish I would have gotten a bigger one though LOL. OMG my best friend did insanity I always wanted to try it but im so scary haha let me know how it works out for you 😀

  5. Ohhhh, vegan vans!! We don’t have food trucks in Australia and I want one SO BAD!! 🙂

    • It’s amazing the quality of food that is put out by the vans. Of course I love to support the Vegan Van but there are a lot of other vans that offer vegan fare, which is cool. I had a yummy black bean bbq burger the other day from a burger truck. Maybe you just need to come up for vacation; it’s the perfect excuse 🙂

  6. I’ve always wondered about those little metal ball things. Kind of a good idea….glad yout ested it out for me! 🙂 🙂 HOw do you like the taste of vega?

    • I actually like the taste. A lot of reviews said it was horrible but I don’t think so. I’ve only had the Vanilla Chai, and yes, like all protein shakes it comes with a certain amount of grittiness but the actual flavor isn’t bad.

Leave a Reply

