The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Good News, Everyone!

on July 7, 2012

A few weeks ago I mentioned that Urban Decay cosmetics had turned their backs on lab animals by deciding to sell their products in China. Well I’m happy to say that after a huge outpouring of concern from their fans that they have reversed this decision and will not sell in China! They are now back on the Leaping Bunny list. This speaks volumes about the power of the cruelty-free community. We have a voice and we will not stand idly by if a company choses to abandon their principals. UD made the right move by choosing compassion over profit and hopefully this will serve as a warning to any other company that might be considering a similar move.

On another note, I went to VegFest today and it was awesome! Robert agreed to be dragged tag along and while I know it wasn’t his preference on how to spend Saturday, I love that he was willing to go. VegFest is a convention of veg and vegan food vendors, companies, and animal rights groups. It was great to see so many local veg and vegan companies and there was lots of yummy foods to sample. I stocked up on Denver Seitan (I’m giving the Sicilian a go this time and I got another log of Chickenesque) and I got to see a preview of the goods that will be sold at Nooch, Denver’s first all vegan store that’s set to open in a few weeks. I nearly shit a brick when I saw packs of The Vegg at their booth and I couldn’t buy one fast enough. I can not wait to give this a try but I’m having trouble deciding how I want to use it. French Toast? A tofu scramble? Hollandaise sauce? Agh, the choices! Well whatever I decide I will have a review soon!

I also met Dan and Mike, The Gay Vegans and founders of Cruelty Free World. CFW sells vegan accessories and books at markets and festivals and 100% of proceeds goes to animal and human rights groups. It takes special people to create a company that donates all profits and it was a pleasure meeting Dan and Mike. I have to say it took a lot of restraint for me to not buy one of the gorgeous purses they had on display; if I weren’t on a budget I would have walked out one cruelty-free purse richer! Dan did share with me his favorite French Toast recipe from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s book Vegan Brunch, which I will be purchasing soon.

So I’d say I had a productive and informative day. I wish I had enough money to buy one of everything I saw and donate to every animal cause but we signed some important petitions; one was to propose that cages used at puppy mills have to have at least a solid surface on half the cage bottom; the other was to drastically increase the size of battery cages used for egg-laying hens. It’s a small, but important step. I can’t wait until next year’s VegFest and in the meantime I have plenty of new ideas for products to review so stay tuned!

 

2 responses to “Good News, Everyone!

  1. Barb says:

    That’s great news about UD, and I plan to join you next year at VegFest… that way poor Robert can just stay home 😉

Leave a Reply

