The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

In the Lap of Luxury

on July 11, 2012

 

I love LUSH products as evidenced by my previous reviews of the henna hair dye and fresh face masks. It really is a shame that I live so close to one of their stores because I have a hard time staying away. I’m not lying when I say I’ve spent a small chunk of my paycheck there in the past. I’ve been more responsible lately but one of my purchases about 2 months ago was Crème Anglaise which is their most expensive product. Before I get to just how much I dropped on this lotion let me explain why it costs so much and why I think it is worth splurging on.

Crème Angliase is a body lotion that includes some of the most decadent and exotic ingredients to smooth and soften skin. These ingredients include almond oil, cocoa butter, shea butter, extra virgin coconut oil, myrrh, vanilla, sweet orange oil, and the world’s most expensive spice, saffron. When I tried it in the store I was overcome with just how delicious it smelled. It is kind of hard to describe; the vanilla is warm but not overpowering, there is just a hint of the buttery scent of cocoa butter, and a little sweetness from the almond oil. Some reviews on the LUSH site said it is an ‘odd’ smell but I find it comforting and relaxing.  The saffron adds a light yellow color to complete the dessert effect. Sure the saffron may be a superfluous ingredient, but how often do you get to say you’ve used it in a lotion?

I didn’t think it would really be that different from other lotions I use but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The first time I used it I put it on after my shower using a little more on my elbows which tend to be the driest area of my body. Despite all the oils and butters used in the formula this lotion is extremely light and fast-absorbing.  This is fantastic during the summer because I didn’t feel like I was sweating it off as soon as I put it on, but I also didn’t have that sticky, tacky feeling that some thick lotions have.  When I woke up the next morning (I shower at night, just so no one thinks I took a shower in the morning then went back to bed and slept until the next day) my skin was silky-smooth. I’ve never used a lotion that provided such great moisture. Part of this is because there is no water, which is the main culprit that causes dry skin and is often the first ingredient found in lotion. But with Crème Anglaise every ingredient is geared towards providing moisture to the skin and water has no part in that equation.

So, just how much is it going to set you back? A 7.9 oz jar is $44.95. BUT a little goes a long, long way.  I only use it once a week as a treat and after exfoliating, which ensures it will not sit on top of dead skin. I bought my jar almost 2 months ago and I still have about a fifth of it left. This is absolutely a splurge item unless you can afford to use it every day, in which case will you buy me some and send it to me? Seriously though, you have to treat yourself sometimes and you can’t go wrong with a product that provides the kind of quality results that Crème Anglaise does. If you’ve got some extra cash to burn head over to LUSH’s website and pick some up.

2 responses to “In the Lap of Luxury

  1. Ohhhh YUMMM!! I ADORE Lush products and I think you may have just introduced me to a new love! I’m going to head down to my local store and lunchtime and check this cream out. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

