The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Thoughts on Aurora Shooting and Acure Facial Cleanser Review

on July 26, 2012

Before I get to this week’s review I wanted to take a moment to share my thoughts on the theatre shootings last Friday in Aurora, Colorado. I was shaken, as everyone else was, to hear of the horror that occurred. All day Friday at work we were glued to the television waiting for any additional information about the victims and the suspect. I was especially apprehensive as the names of the victims trickled out; I grew up in Aurora and many of my friends and acquaintances from school still live there. I feared seeing a name I recognized. I thought about all the movies I had seen at that very same theatre and even though it’s been many years since I’ve been there, it still hurt to see what had happened. Thankfully I didn’t know anyone who was there but that doesn’t make the losses any less tragic.

In the days following the shooting I watched a lot of the national news coverage. One reaction from someone outside of the US commented that America doesn’t have a monopoly on terrorism and tragedy. That’s very true; it difficult for Americans to think that people in other countries live in constant fear because that’s not the norm for us. So when something like the theatre shootings happen it consumes our media coverage and we expect the whole world to react with the same sadness and anger that we feel. In the US  terror and tragedy in other countries rarely gets headline coverage.  Dozens of people are killed daily in Syria and Iraq. A flood in Beijing, China killed 37 last week. I don’t recall seeing the names of any of the victims of those incidents. It is important as humans to understand that violence and disasters happen everywhere and every life lost is sad. No one countries’ tragedy is more important than anothers’.

Last night I was at Red Rocks watching Florence and the Machine. After she came out for an encore, she asked everyone to observe a moment of silence in honor of the victims. I’ve never been so moved by the stillness of almost 10,000 people and I realized I wascrying. The next song performed, Never Let Me Go, was made that much more poignant given the recent events.  Here are the lyrics if you’ve never heard this song before:http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/f/florence_and_the_machine/never_let_me_go.html

I think it was a beautifully appropriate way to honor the victims.

Now on to a lighter subject.  This week I have chosen Acure Facial Cleansing Cream with Argan Oil and Mint. I like light cleansers. I used to use foams but I found them to be too drying. This cleanser works wonderfully without over-drying. It contains olive oil, argan oil, and coca butter to smooth and moisturize, blackberry and rosehip to provide antioxidants, and mint to cleanse.

I love how it smells; the mint is mild but refreshing and the oils lend a soothing component. It is perfect for sensitive skin and works well on normal to dry skin. It rinses off cleanly and doesn’t leave behind residue. I was especially surprised at how smooth my skin felt after washing it off.  Another bonus is that a small amount goes a long way. I use about a jellybean size amount and that’s more than enough to get the job done.

I really like Acure products because they contain quality, all natural ingredients and are very reasonably priced. The cleanser I use is $14.99, which considering how long it lasts is a great value. All of Acure’s products are vegan, except their lip balm and line eraser (they contain beeswax).  The company also donates 5% of their proceeds to provide free mammograms to at-risk women. On their website you can shop for products based on your skin type so it’s easy to create the perfect skin care regimen. I found them in Whole Foods but you can order online as well.

3 responses to “Thoughts on Aurora Shooting and Acure Facial Cleanser Review

  1. Barb says:

    Great post, and I agree- Americans see so much less violence in our lives than those living in other countries, and I think it’s important to remember how fortunate we are in that respect. Also? I love Florence and the Machine!

  2. Avida says:

    Grate job!!!
    I also wrote about this, please review..
    http://www.squidoo.com/cruelty-free-cosmetics-and-makeup

Leave a Reply

