The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Polish Power

on August 2, 2012

I’m not very good at ‘girly stuff’. Applying makeup, styling my hair, being fashion-conscious; I think I missed out on that gene. I’ve never been good with my hair which is why I keep it short now. When it was long I usually just put it up in a ponytail and called it a day. I don’t have a deft hand when applying makeup so I stick with just the basics; eye shadow, mascara, and foundation. And I really couldn’t care less if my clothes are trendy.

I even fail at wearing nail polish. It seems that no matter what I do I can’t avoid getting bubbles. I’ve scoured the internet looking for suggestions on how to keep this from happening. I’ve tried not shaking the bottle, applying two coats quickly without letting the first dry, using different brands, applying upside down. Okay, not that last one, but needless to say that none of those tactics worked. Except changing brands. Most of my polishes are Revlon but with the recent news that they are conducting 3rd party testing I needed to find a new brand.

I was thinking this very thing during my favorite pastime a few weeks ago-wandering around Whole Foods. Honestly the employees at the WF I frequent must think I’m stalking someone there. I’m not, but I will wander up and down the same aisles over and over debating on what new products to try. And I came across Mineral Fusion’s Nail Lacquer stand. I’ve reviewed MF’s products in the past so I was very excited to see a line of polishes from them. I had to resist buying one of each color and just decided on Stepping Stone, a paleish pink hue. And yes that is my toe in the bottom right corner 🙂 I don’t have any really good places for photography in my apartment, so sometimes you will see thing like this. Faithful and obeservant readers will recognize a microwave in may of my photos. Anywho…

I thought I would try applying it without going through the rigmarole of putting on a base coat and finishing with a top coat. This first layer went on very thin but dried quickly. I applied a second and third coat and when my nails were completely dry there were no bubbles to be found! And I could not believe how shiny and smooth this polish was.  The dried color was very true to how it looked in the bottle and even with three layers they were completely dry in about 30 minutes. I also had no chipping even after almost a week of wear.

Today I just had to pick up another color so I chose Grotto.  It looks like just a purplish-grey, but in direct light I could see a pretty shimmer. And again, no bubbles! This time I only applied two coats, which was enough. I guess it just depends on the color if two or three coats are needed.  And forgive my pictures because they do not do justice to how vibrant these colors really are.

Most of the colors offered are various shades of pink and red but there are a few other colors (like Grotto) if you’re looking for something that stands out a bit more. Unfortunately, Mineral Fusion doesn’t have the polishes listed on their website (I know, this is the second review I’ve done that lacks a link. Sorry!) but I was just so impressed with the quality that I had to review them. Look for them at a Whole Foods near you; Mineral Fusion is pretty well represented around the country, even Canada. I put Toronto and Vancouver into their store locator and both came up with results so I hope you give them a shot. As for me, I’m just glad that I can do one girly thing right now 🙂

14 responses to “Polish Power

  1. I love that second color! I’ve been using Zoya for those girly moments & am happy with it, but It’s nice to have another brand to look for! 🙂

  2. Barb says:

    Pretty! My complaint with polish is that it always chips, but it sounds like this brand doesn’t… might have to pick up a bottle this weekend! Expensive??

  3. So pretty! I miss painting my nails (we’re not allowed to have painted nails where I work now). I used to paint them a different colour almost every other day! Glad you found a brand you like 🙂 I will try and remember it next time nail polish makes an appearance in my life 🙂

    • We’re at least allowed polish, but no fake nails or shellac. I find I’m changing my color every 2-3 days too. There’s something calming about painting your nails I think. Maybe it’s just the polish fumes getting to me 🙂

  4. Kristy says:

    I don’t paint my nails because as soon as I can find a chip, I’m obsessed with peeling them and it’s not an attractive habit. I do, however, love having pedicures and I found a salon near where I live that uses only sparitual products, and I LOVE them. I recommend giving them a try! http://www.sparitual.com/index.php

    • Lol, I know what you mean about the peeling. I think that’s why I repaint so often; I don’t give the paint a chance to chip. And thanks for the recommendation, I will definitely look into them.

  5. Super cute! I never polish my nails because I’m a notorious fidgeter/picker, but I know someone who might love a set of these as a gift… That purple would delight them!

  6. Avida says:

    Grate job!!!
    I also wrote about this, please check it out..
    http://www.squidoo.com/cruelty-free-cosmetics-and-makeup

  7. Barb says:

    I tried the Grotto this weekend and it’s AMAZING how easy it is to apply, and how (nearly) perfect it comes out!!

Leave a Reply

