The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Whip it Good

on November 7, 2012

I hope everyone enjoyed the second Virtual Vegan Potluck! I had so much fun going through all the recipes. Now I’m in the process of going through the extensive list of participants again to pin all the ones I want to try. Thank you to everyone who visited me—it was my most successful day to date! I’m excited to have several new followers and I hope you enjoy my future posts. Big thanks to Annie, Somer, Lidia, and Jason for their hard work at making the potluck successful. This is the start of what I think will become a very popular tradition!

We are officially in ‘holiday season’. I’m not entirely sure when it begins—every year it seems like Christmas decorations come out in stores sooner and sooner. But I think the start of November is really when things pick up. I myself am not a huge holiday fan, even less so this year with my unemployment casting a huge shadow over any merriment I might try to enjoy. However, I am trying to stay positive about my future and one way I’ve done that recently was by making a pumpkin pie. Now that may not sound like a big deal but I’ve never made a pie before so when it came out well, I was ecstatic. And of course with a slice of vegan pumpkin pie I needed some vegan whipped cream.

I know that there are recipes out there on how to make your own whipped cream but I am not that ambitious. Thankfully, Soyatoo makes vegan whipped cream in the can. I wasn’t sure what to expect taste-wise, but I was pleasantly surprised at how similar it was to dairy-based whipped cream. I will say that it has a slight soy-flavor similar to soy milk but it’s only noticeable if you taste it on its own, and who just eats whipped cream with nothing else? I put this on Robert’s slice and he said nothing about it, which is basically like a thumbs-up from Caesar, so it passed that test. It also comes out of the can just like other brands so I think it would be easy to fool anyone that it’s vegan.

What I really liked about this whipped cream is that it wasn’t too sweet. While it does contain sweeteners like maltodextrin and coconut oil, it doesn’t taste like you just ate a spoonful of sugar. Nutrition wise, it’s fairly even compared to other brands. For the same amount of serving of the popular dairy-based whipped cream, Soyatoo contains 0.5 gram less fat, five fewer calories, and of course no cholesterol.

My only qualm with this whipped cream is that you have to remove it from the refrigerator 15 minutes prior to using, in order to loosen the contents up. It’s inconvenient, especially if you just want a cup of cocoa because you can’t just take it out, spray some on, and be done. You have to plan the timing of your desserts and drinks. Spontaneity is not allowed.  Still, it’s a small price to pay for vegan whipped cream that tastes this good. Look for it next to other canned whipped cream, and look hard. At my Whole Foods at was at the very end of the cooler, on the top shelf, practically hidden by the other brands.

A whipped cream snow cap for my penguin 🙂

11 responses to “Whip it Good

  1. If you ever see a rice version of this, I’d love to hear about it! Basically, I just wanted to say that penguin mug rocks! 😉 Oh, wait, and vegan hot cocoa? I can’t drink the powdered mixes bc dried milk, so I’ve been going without.

  2. Oh I do love Soyatoo, perhaps too much, in fact! I can’t allow myself to buy the spray cans anymore, since I’ve been known to simply fill up a bowl with whipped cream and eat it with a spoon. It’s a perfectly delicious dessert by itself!

  3. LOVE your review and couldn’t agree more! Soy whip started as a liquid in a box that you whipped yourself. That was ok… but I felt like I could just whip coconut milk and get the same texture. The soy whip in the can though is heaven! And like you said… not too sweet. NOM! 😀

  4. Barb says:

    What about MimicCreme? I think they have it at Nooch…

  5. […] is pictured above. A couple of the purchases were inspired by bloggers. The rice whip came from a conversation with Reia over at The Cruelty Free Review. She got the soy whip. I’m allergic to soy, but she […]

Leave a Reply

