The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Budget Buy-Earth Science Almond-Aloe Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15

on January 7, 2013

2012071606210764580_lrg

 

Keeping with the kind-of theme of budget-friendly CF buys, I present you Earth Science Almond-Aloe Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15. I am vigilant about applying moisturizer with SPF but often feel like many of them leave behind a greasy residue. For someone with temperamental skin, this can result in random breakouts and a perpetually shiny forehead. Not a great look. Up until a few months ago I had been using The Body Shop’s Vitamin C Moisturizer with SPF 30 and I loooved it. However, at $36 a pop for a 1.7oz container, it was not a viable option during unemployment. Thankfully Earth Science offers a quality, affordable, and vegan alternative.

For starters, this moisturizer is silky smooth. It says that right on the label but of course one can’t always believe a label. However I will attest that this is not false advertising. It is very light and for a product that contains sunscreen, it absorbs remarkably well. I have never noticed a greasy residue and I think it achieves a prefect level of moisturization.  Applying makeup on top of this lotion won’t make it feel caked on either. The scent is very mild with just a hint of almond but it does come in a fragrance-free version.   In addition to the aloe and almond oil it contains jojoba oil, Vitamin E, ginseng and green tea extract, Sodium hylauronate (remember that from this post?),  and retinyl palmitate.  Retinyl palmitate is a form of Vitamin A that has shown to have antioxidant and skin-cell regenerator properties; great stuff to use on your face!

I do wish the SPF level was higher so if I plan on being in the sun for an extended period of time, I apply sunscreen on top of this. I also have an issue with the dispenser getting clogged with hardened pieces occasionally, so in order to dislodge it I have to squeeze the bottle harder and often end up with a big blob in my hand. Still, for only $9.95 for a 5oz bottle I really can’t complain.

Earth Science offers a huge line of affordable face, body, and hair care products and almost all are vegan, with the exception of these ones:

Azulene Eye Treatment contains beeswax

Men’s Face & Body Skin Care Balm contains lanolin oil

Hair Treatment Shampoo contains hydrolyzed silk protein

Hair Treatment Conditioner contains hydrolyzed silk protein

Deep Conditioning Shampoo and Hair Masque contain hydrolyzed silk protein

They are readily found in health food stores and also have an online store to purchase from.

 

9 responses to “Budget Buy-Earth Science Almond-Aloe Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15

  1. Ugh, I hear you about the outrageous expenses for these things… I have a facial moisturizer that I adore by Origins, but it’s $28 for a freaking tiny 1.4 ounce bottle! This sounds like an excellent, and much needed alternative. Thank you!

    • I love Origins, but they are definitely pricey products. Although I do think the eye creams are resonably priced, considering you only have to use a small amount. I still have a jar of the Ginzing eye cream that is $30 and I’ve had it for almost a year. Granted I don’t use it every day, but it does last a long time.

      • Good point, and I do believe in paying for quality. I had been saving up my super-deluxe moisturizer for a special occasion, and since it’s also SPF 25, I busted it out for my Hawaii vacation. Now it will be gone in less than a week! At least I can definitively say it works: I’m white as a sheet, and I haven’t burned yet. 🙂

  2. Love the low-cost (yet still vegan) options! Keep ’em coming! 🙂

  3. Natalie says:

    This looks like such an amazing moisturizer.

  4. Budget friendly is right! This is awesome! 😀 Even with brown skin, I currently use a moisturizer with SPF 30, so I hear you on the 15 protection, but your review has convinced me that this is worth a try! Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

