The Cruelty-Free Review

A review of compassionate products, foods, and recipes

Snack Attack

on February 26, 2013

I’m going to apologize in advance for the lack of pictures in this post. I’ve been trying to make sure I post my own pics and not just those from a website, but I occasionally get lazy and don’t feel like dragging out the camera, taking pics, uploading them to my computer, then to the post. But that’s not why pictures are lacking for this post. I have no pictures because the product in question doesn’t last long enough for a picture. I’m totally serious.

So, just what is so amazing that it practically disappears as soon as it crosses the threshold of the apartment? Only Earth Balance’s new vegan Aged White Cheddar Popcorn and White Cheddar Puffs.

VeganCheesePCFront-sm-300x385PuffsFront-sm-300x385

I love Smart Foods White Cheddar popcorn. I can eat an entire bag. Not one of those ‘snack’ size bags but the big, this-should-last-you-at-least-a week size bag.  I haven’t eaten it nearly as much as I would in the past due to its un-vegan-ness but that hasn’t stopped me from indulging.  So imagine my delight when I saw that EB had created a vegan version of one of my all-time favorite junk foods.  I won’t lie and say that I didn’t have my doubts.  Could it possibly live up to the taste of the original?

I was fortunate enough to get the last bag on the shelf of my local Whole Foods a few weeks back. I raced home and opened the bag in eager anticipation. I threw a few pieces in my mouth and for a moment I thought I might cry. I tasted almost exactly like the Smart Foods version. In fact I found that I liked it more because the cheese flavor was not as overpowering.  I had Robert try some and he loved it too. I also noticed that it was a lot less powdery so I didn’t get a thick coating of ingredients on my fingers. But perhaps the best thing is the nutritional comparison. I always managed to fool myself into thinking that the Smart Foods version wasn’t that bad considering it was made with popcorn but  I’ll let the numbers speak for themselves.

Earth Balance Vegan Aged White Cheddar Popcorn

Earth Balance Vegan Aged White Cheddar Popcorn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nutritional Information for Smart Foods White Cheddar Popcorn

Nutritional Information for Smart Foods White Cheddar Popcorn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With EB you get almost double the serving size with fewer calories, less saturated fat and more healthy fats, and less sodium. That’s not to say that eating an entire bag of EB popcorn is recommended, but if you do it certainly won’t be as bad.

Do you ever miss Cheetos Puffs since going vegan? EB has an answer for that as well-Aged White Cheddar Curls. These big, airy puffs of deliciousness are made with corn and…navy beans? That’s right. It sounds weird but after your first one you won’t be able to stop.  It’s almost like the beans add creaminess to the puffs.  That might not be the right way to describe it but you’ll know what I mean when you try them. Their nutritional content is even better than the popcorn, again making it less of a guilty pleasure.

Earth Balance White Cheddar Puffs

Earth Balance White Cheddar Puffs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since trying both these products the first time a few weeks ago we have gone through 2 bags of the popcorn and 2 bags of the puffs. Neither bag has lasted through more than one sitting. They are just that damn good. We probably would have gone through more bags but more often than not they’re sold out, so I get them whenever I can. They also have a plain, buttered popcorn flavor that I haven’t tried but I imagine it’s equally delicious.  I highly suggest you snag a bag of either if you come across them and see for yourself how the evolution of vegan junk food is coming along.

7 responses to “Snack Attack

  1. They’re bot SO GOOD, but I think the puffs are my favorite!

  2. I’ve only found the white cheddar puffs so far, but wow, those are good enough to keep me happy all by themselves! Amazingly, crazily cheesy stuff. I can’t keep an open bag in the house though… It’s a special occasion splurge, to be sure.

    • I consider it a special occasion whenever I find a bag 🙂 We snagged the last bag at our closest WF last Saturday. They did not live to see Sunday. I think they only way I could stop from eating them so often is if they cost $15 a bag. And that’s a pretty big ‘if’. I might have a slight addiction…

  3. Galen says:

    I love the puffs as well. I can got through a large bag so quickly it makes your head spin. YUM! I’m going to have to keep my eyes peeled for the popcorn.

  4. I hate to admit this publicly but I am really jealous! I’ve been looking for those dang puffs EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sigh. I’ll just have to live vicariously through you and your taste buds until our WF gets them!

Leave a Reply

